All Songs Considered



Chart Positions

Music 3

Hosts/nerds Bob Boilen and Robin Hilton are your friendly music buddies with the week's best new music discoveries, including conversations with emerging artists, icons and more. Hear songs that can completely change your day, with humor, heart and (sometimes) a whole lot of noise. Directions for use: Morning commute, the gym, or alone time. (If rash persists, discontinue use.)


Electronic Edition: M83, Burial And Massive Attack, Four Tet, More

October 18th, 2011

Episode 367 of 797 episodes

NPR Music producers Sami Yenigun and Otis Hart return once again to hold court with Bob Boilen on the best new electronic music. This episode ofAll Songs Consideredincludes tracks from superstars M83 andFour Tet, a collaboration betweenBurialandMassive Attack, off-the-radar releases from The Field, Luca Bacchetti, Roll the Dice and RxRy, and a mysterious single from an unknown artist. Along the way, Sami and Otis explain some of the peculiarities and buzzwords of the electronic scene, such as "dubplate culture," and why dance tracks so often sound like one long middle. 1. M83 ft. Zola Jesus: Intro 2. Unknown: Swims 3. Burial and Massive Attack: Four Walls 4. Roll The Dice: Iron Bridge 5. Luca Bacchetti: Tango 6. The Field: Is This Power 7. RxRy: P Block 8. Four Tet: Pyramid

Featured Podcast