All Songs Considered



Chart Positions

Music 3

Hosts/nerds Bob Boilen and Robin Hilton are your friendly music buddies with the week's best new music discoveries, including conversations with emerging artists, icons and more. Hear songs that can completely change your day, with humor, heart and (sometimes) a whole lot of noise. Directions for use: Morning commute, the gym, or alone time. (If rash persists, discontinue use.)


New Mix: Sisyphus, Avey Tare, Nothing, More

February 18th, 2014

Episode 501 of 811 episodes

Hosts Bob Boilen and Robin Hilton open this week's show by reminiscing about a recent Son Lux and San Fermin show that delivered epic sounds with bold, cinematic rock. Bob and Robin's shared love for walls of noise leads them directly to the orchestral opening track on this week's program, "Beneath The Brine" by The Family Crest. Also on the show: A peek at the debut full-length album from Sisyphus, a genre-bending group featuring Sufjan Stevens, Son Lux and Chicago hip-hop artist Serengeti; Animal Collective's Avey Tare returns with a new bizarro project called Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks; plus one-of-a-kind folk singer Diane Cluck, the sludgy noise rock group Nothing and the post-punk and new wave group Eagulls. Songs Featured On This Episode Beneath the Brine Artist: The Family Crest Album: Beneath The Brine "Beneath The Brine" is a massive-sounding, super-orchestrated track by the San Francisco-based band The Family Crest. The group's Kickstarter-funded album comes out Feb. 25. Lion's Share Artist: Sisyphus Album: Sisyphus Sisyphus is comprised of Son Lux, Sufjan Stevens and Chicago-based hip-hop artist Serengeti. "Lion's Share" is a tongue-in-cheek, story-centered song where each member shines. The trio's self-titled album is out Mar. 18. Sara Artist: Diane Cluck Album: Boneset The guitarist and pianist Diane Cluck makes heartfelt, intimate folk music. Her upcoming album,Boneset, will be released on March 4. Get Well Artist: Nothing Album: Guilty of Everything The loud, gritty quartet Nothing, out of Philadelphia, have a new album, Guilty of Everything, out March 4. Little Fang Artist: Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks Album: Enter The Slasher House Animal Collective's Avey Tare has a new solo project called "Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks." Enter The Slasher House, the group's upcoming album, is out March 4 and includes this poppy, psychedelic track, "Little Fang." Possessed Artist: Eagulls Album: Eagulls Eagulls, a bold and brash band from Leeds, will release its self-titled album March 11.

Featured Podcast