Episode

Research at the National Archives and Beyond!

BerniceBennett

Society & Culture, History

Welcome to Research at the National Archives and Beyond! This show will provide individuals interested in genealogy and history an opportunity to listen, learn and take action. You can join me every Thursday at 9 pm Eastern, 8 pm Central, 7pm Mountain and 6 pm Pacific where I will have a wonderful line up of experts who will share resources, stories and answer your burning genealogy questions. All of my guests share a deep passion and knowledge of genealogy and history. My goal is to reach individuals who are thinking about tracing their family roots; beginners who have already started and others who believe that continuous learning is the key to finding answers. "Remember, your ancestors left footprints".

Website

Keeper of the Fire with Teresa R. Kemp

January 16th, 2015

Episode 169 of 272 episodes

Join Author Teresa R. Kemp for a discussion of her new book "Keeper OfThe Fire". Thisbook discussesherGullah Geechie culture andincludes 480 pages of heritage research done by five generations of her family documenting their journeys across Africa to enslavement in America - representing more than 187 years of history in America. They passed down documents, a culture of faith,and a tradition of service to the community. Mrs. Teresa R. Kemp is the 5th Generation Quilter, historian and owner of Plantation Quilts and UGRR Secret Quilt Code Museum.Born in Baumholder, West Germany to the late Dr. Howard and Serena (Strother) Wilson. She graduated from Berlin American High School and attended Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio. She transferred to West Virginia State University and graduated with a Bachelor ofArts degree. She also graduated from DeVry University in Atlanta, Georgia with a Bachelor of Science in Computer Information Systems. In 2005, with her parents she opened the UGRR Secret Quilt Code Museum. A staunch advocate for conservation, healthier lifestyles for all and, as an Abolitionist, she fights Human Trafficking while researching international slavery & preserving the world’s cultural heritage. www.PlantationQuilts.com

Featured Podcast

Listen